2015 start list (pdf file)

Spring Classic 2015 Race manual (pdf file)

BC Website Page

RACE ORGANISER…….   Peter Boast  07971 624612   EVENT CO-ORDINATOR……..  Alan Roper, Tel 01282 432198

RACE HQ …..  Eddisford Junior School, Eddisford Road, Clitheroe, Lancashire BB7 2LN

SIGN ON ………. Opens at 8.15 and closes at 9.20 sharp, after which nominated reserves will be allocated a place in the race in reserve number order.

RIDER BRIEFING 9.30 am ………… All riders must report inside race HQ by 9.25. Any rider who fails to attend or is late shall remain outside and only start the race at the discretion of the chief comm./assistant comm. The briefing outlines the race format and is also for your safety and that of race personnel and marshals please be there on time.


MOTO COMMISSAIRE ………… Dave Greatorex         SIGN ON ……….  Christine Woffindin / Len Woffindin /Team C.S.P

CHIEF JUDGE/TIMEKEEPER…….. Len Woffindin / Simon Gosling        FIRST AID…….. Ribble Valley First aid.

REFRESHMENTS……… Supplied by members of Pendle Forrest CC and Cycle Sport Pendle

N.E.G  MOTO RACE SUPPORT.….. Dave Greatorex   N.E.G Motorcycle escort X 4

RACE MARSHALLS……. BC accredited marshals, members and friends of Clayton Velo and Cycle Sport Pendle.

LEAD CARS …….. Group 1 juniors, Mark Turner.     Group 2  Russell Brass,   Scratch Group, Dan Walker


GEAR CHECK …………. Simon Gosling, John Rutter, Dominic Rutter

All juniors must make their bikes available between 8.30 am and 9.15 am, you will not be allowed to sign on otherwise.

COURSE DETAILS .  15 LAPS, Start on the unclassified road one mile East of Hodder Bridge, proceed towards Hodder Bridge and left at first crossroads (M) Proceed to junction with B6243 (M) Left onto B6243 direction Clitheroe, turn sharp left 150M from Eddisford Bridge (M) continue towards Bashall to turn left at junction (M) onto the start and finishing straight to complete lap of 3.9 mile, repeat for a further 14 Laps (15 in total) = 58.5 miles.

RACE SERVICE……Neutral race service will be provided by One Pro race team for scratch group riders until groups merge and then strictly at the control and discretion of the Chief Commissaire.

PARKING ……….. The start and finish straight will be taped off and the adjacent lay-by reserved for race convoy, please park sensibly away from this area. There is also a cafe at Bashall Barn a short walk away.


1st £100 + the Dave Wilkinson memorial trophy  2nd £40     3rd £30     4th £25     5th £20     6th £15     7th £10    8th £10     9th £10     10th £10     1st  Junior £20 and the CSP Best Junior trophy 

David Wilkinson Primes  ……………  First across the line £10 …………..   2nd across the line £5

There will be the David Wilkinson Prime’s at the end of laps 2 to 13 inclusive sponsored by Clayton stalwart member Alan Roper who has been involved with the races promotion in every capacity from tea boy to commissaire for all 49 editions!  David’s friend and riding buddy for even longer!! ‘Willie’ to his many friends in the Clayton he was a diminutive attacking climber and 1st category for many years.

Race winner, podium finishers, top 10, best Junior and prime winners must make themselves available at race HQ for a prize presentation within 45 minutes of the race finish. No attendance no prize.

Former Winners

2014:   1. Simon Wilson,                  2. David McGowan                              3. Richard Handley
2013:   1. Richard Handley              2. Ryan Mullen,                                    3. James Gullen
2012:   1. Richard Hepworth          2. David McGowan                              3. Robert Hassan
2011:   1. Dean Downing,                1. Tom Murray (dead heat)               3. Tom Barras
2010:    1. Dan Craven                      2. Peter Williams                                 3. Chris Newton
2009:    1. Rob Hayles                       2. Rob Partridge                                  3. Mark McNally
2008:   1. Chris Newton                  2. Dean Downing                                 3. Graham Briggs
2007:   1. Ian Stannard                    2. Alex Dowsett                                   3. Mark McNally
2006:   1. Chris Newton                  2. Kevin Dawson                                  3. Graham Briggs
2005:   1. Kevin Dawson                  2. David McGowan,                             3. Ian Wilkinson
2004:   1. Kevin Dawson                  2. Jack Hill                                              3. Philip West
2003:   1. Gary Adamson                 2. Kevin Dawson                                  3. Ian Wilkinson
2002:   1. Bill Nickson                       2. Chris Burrows                                  3. Hamish Haynes
2001:    Cancelled
2000:   1. Robin Sharman                2. Ian Cuthbertson                              3. Hamish Haynes
1999:   1. Mark Lovatt                     2. Alistair Kay                                       3. Neil Swithenbank